Shelby County Clerk's Office - Alabama
Thursday, October 29, 2020
Skip Navigation Links.
Main Page
2020 Court Calendar
2021 Court Calendar
Mary H. Harris, Circuit Clerk
Deputy Clerk
E-filing Information
Pro Se Alafile Registration
Absentee Voting
Passport Information
Records Request
Small Claims
District Civil
Circuit Civil
Domestic Relations
Child Support
Petition for Protection from Abuse
Traffic Court
District Criminal
Circuit Criminal
Phone Directory for Court System
Court Calendar / News
Employment Procedures
Need an Attorney?
Traffic Court

Click here for the phone directory

Traffic Ticket Information

A traffic citation has been issued for you to appear before the Shelby County District Court. If you fail to pay or otherwise dispose of your case prior to the court date and fail to appear on your court date, a warrant may be issued for your arrest, your driver’s license may be suspended by the Department of Public Safety, the fine may be increased, and any bond posted may be forfeited. The Court date on your copy of the ticket is NOT A TRIAL DATE; if you desire to plead NOT GUILTY and want a TRIAL, you must appear in court on your court date to request a TRIAL DATE.

Tickets listed in the chart below may be paid by entering a guilty plea without a required court appearance, provided you have not been convicted of two or more traffic offenses in the preceding 12 months. If you wish to avoid a court appearance and enter a plea of guilty, sign the Defendant’s plea of guilty on the back of your copy of the ticket and attach your money order or cashier’s check for the amount of fine and costs indicated and mail it to:

District Clerk
P.O. Box 1810
Columbiana, AL 35051

NO PERSONAL CHECKS ACCEPTED. Personal checks will be returned causing a delay and late charges being assessed. Your signed plea of guilty and money order must reach the Clerk’s office before your court date. If it does not, a warrant may be issued for your arrest and your driver’s license may be suspended by the Department of Public Safety, all without further notice to you.

For questions or payment please contact the Alabama Traffic Service Center at or by calling toll free (866) 954-9399. Cases may be paid with a credit or debit card by calling (877) 252-7294.

OffensesFines and Costs
Speeding (less than 25 mph over limit)*$196.00
Speeding (more than 25 mph over limit)*$216.00
Driving on the wrong side of the road *$206.00
Failure to stop at R.R. Crossing *$186.00
Failure to yield Right of Way *$196.00
Following too closely *$196.00
Improper backing *$196.00
Improper passing *$196.00
Improper signal *$186.00
Improper turn *$196.00
Running Red Light or Stop Sign *$196.00
Stopping on highway *$206.00
Driving Without a License (Does NOT include Driving While Revoked, Canceled or Suspended)$251.00
Failure to dim headlights$186.00
Failure to use Safety Belt$46.00
Failure to use Child Restraint$201.00
Improper brakes$196.00
Improper muffler$186.00
Improper or no rearview mirror$196.00
Improper tag$201.00
Improper tires$196.00
Improper window tinting$196.00
No helmet (motorcycle)$186.00
Violating Driver License Restrictions$236.00
* Indicates offense is eligible for DRIVING SCHOOL (see below).


Please note that traffic violations not listed in the chart above cannot be paid without court appearance.

Defensive Driving School Options

If you have been charged with an offense indicated with an asterisk (*) in the chart above, you may be eligible to have your case dismissed upon completion of a Defensive Driving course and payment of court costs. This will allow you to avoid a court appearance and will prevent the accrual of points assessed against your Alabama Driver’s License as a result of this offense. To qualify for Driving School, you must

  1. Be charged with an offense eligible for Driving School
  2. Have no more than one previous citation for a moving violation and have never been arrested for DUI, and
  3. Be approved for Driving School by the District Attorney.

To determine your eligibility for the Defensive Driving course, you must contact the Shelby County District Attorney’s Office Traffic Unit within 7 days of receiving the citation. To expedite this process, send an email to and be sure to include the UTC number (located in the upper right of your ticket), your date of birth, and contact information. If you do not have an email account, you may call the Shelby County District Attorney’s Office Traffic Unit at (205) 669-3750, extension 1.

If you are approved for Defensive Driving your case may be dismissed upon payment of court costs after your completion of driving school. If you are NOT eligible for driving school, you may still avoid a court appearance by following the instructions at the top of this page.

Processing of No-Insurance Tickets



To avoid further court appearances, Defendant should bring to court all relevant documents at the first court appearance. For example, if the Defendant did not have insurance at the time the ticket was written, but has obtained insurance, proof of the new insurance may result in a lower fine. Also, if the Defendant had insurance coverage on another vehicle and the vehicle driven at the time of citation was newly purchased, the Defendant may bring proof of insurance on the other vehicle, proof of purchase of the newly purchased vehicle described in the ticket and a statement from the insurance provider that the newly purchased vehicle was covered at the time of citation, although the Defendant had not received the insurance card.

Email Mary
Just One Look
Email the webmaster